Chasing Performance on a Daily Basis

Are YOU showing progress?

Are YOU showing progress?

Today’s workout had a lot of gymnastic skill work in it. Not my favorite. However, in order to be proficient, I must do the things I don’t like to do when I DON’T feel like it. The above picture is today’s WOD. In case you can’t see it, here is the workout:

         6 RFT

  • 400 meter run
  • 8 Bar Muscle Ups or Chest to Bar Pullups
  • 4 Power Snatches @ #75

For me, this workout was an opportunity to work on my chest to bar. I am not quite proficient with them so I had to use the red and blue bands. The kicker for this workout was my working weight for the Power Snatch.#75. May not seem like a big deal to some of you out there but for this Masters Competitor, it’s a not the usual weight I use. What made it even more interesting, we ran out of #10’s. I had to use these other plates we had in our Oly section. This brought my weight up to #77. Coach Maverick looked at me and said, “You are more than capable of doing this weight, FOY.” 

As he walked away, I kept repeating to myself, “It’s only 4 reps. You can do this.” All I had to do was keep my elbows to the outside and pull hard to get underneath the bar. Every rep I revisited the points of performance necessary to get these 4 reps out of the way. At the end of it all, I finished the workout in 23:27. I couldn’t have been happier with my time. I was so excited to see I used #77 as a working weight in a workout! Because these plates were high temp, I had to guide these weights down so they would not bounce. Proficiency and control. Every rep had to count regardless of how bad I wanted to drop these weights. I was chasing performance and becoming mentally tough.

Looking back at today’s workout, I recall the countless failed attempts of the Snatch. The memories of frustration and disgust would strike everytime I would see Snatch or Overhead Squat on the board. Now, when I see them in a workout, I see another opportunity to become better, stronger and faster. Instead of just “winging it”, I approach each segment of the program like a technician. Practice like we play, right? Not just today but everyday my friends. This is how progress is made.

Leave a Reply

