Strengthening Weaknesses Only Makes Us Better

better person

This week was a challenging one a far as training was concerned. I injured my neck grinding through handstand pushups. Mind you, I have been working on them. Besides handstand holds, I work a lot of strict upper body movements such as presses and pull ups to help build my strength. By the time the actual metabolic conditioning part came up (aka WOD) my upper body was spent. The rational side was screaming, “STOP NOW! GO HOME!” The Badass CrossFitter yelled back, “STOP BEING A WIMP!” Well, needlessness to say I should have gone home. I landed wrong on my head and felt weird. I immediately stopped my workout and sat in the office with an ice pack on my neck. I tried to be brave and act like it didn’t bother me but deep down inside I was afraid. What if I actually did something wrong? I felt all along the base of neck and it felt swollen. It was the scariest feeling I’ve ever experienced. Couldn’t take it anymore. I left without saying goodbye. I was angry, hurt and frustrated.

After some mobility and ice, I was back to my old self again but the lesson learned was important. I need to “retrace my steps” and focus on the fundamentals. Once those are mastered, THEN I can go to the next step. As far as my training goes, time to take it down a notch. Not in volume, mind you. I should not be skipping steps just to get a faster time. If I don’t, my “dysfunction” will eventually get the best of me and my body will fail resulting in injury.

How about you? Are there areas in your life that you know deep down inside there is a disconnect? Instead of focusing on improving, you skip steps and “wing it”? Let my testimony be your lesson. Personal growth occurs when we slow down and take the time to apply new knowledge. We all have the same 24 hours in a day. How you spend them depends on you and your desire to become better.

Face your obstacles head on. FIND YOUR GREATNESS!

Leave a Reply

