Sugar+Starbucks= a whole lot of burpees

Sugar in Starbucks

When I waited at LAX last month, I wanted to grab some coffee and oatmeal. It was a long flight back to Orlando and a little bag of peanuts was not going to be enough. I figured I had some time so why not? As I came around the corner, I was shocked to see how long the line was. It wrapped around the corner and actually entwined with the boarding group leaving for Ohio. It was crazy to see people rocking back and forth with a glazed look in their eyes as they ordered their beverage. I say beverage because there were so many “i’s” and “o’s” in the names of their drink I didn’t know if it was coffee or an entree`!

The closer I moved in lined, the more I can hear what they were ordering. Admittedly, I was tempted to ordered one of those drinks myself. Then I went online and started looking up nutritional information on these drinks. (I am lactose intolerant so I do this to protect myself from vomiting all over the place.) I came across the above infogram and it quickly persuaded me to purchase water with my oatmeal.

Don’t believe me? Take a look for yourself and ask are those empty calories really worth it?

Leave a Reply

