I Refuse To Settle

Image

 It’s only Tuesday and I am already feeling like “Happy Hour” at the Ale House. Not sure if it’s fatigue from this weekend’s competition or whether I just didn’t eat enough this morning but these WODS are making me feel like a beginner all over again. After two disappointing WODS at my box, I started to feel sorry for myself. I actually cried last night and this morning. But then I asked why am I crying? No one cares that your pull ups suck or your overhead squats are hideous. You know the expression, “Suck it up buttercup!” Yep, enter statement now.

At the end of the day, no one really wants to hear your heavy Debby Downer stuff. They have their own issues to deal with. I even considered quitting. I thought maybe I am just chasing a dream that is too elusive. 

That lasted about 5 mins!

After using the last of my Kleenex tissues, I realized that I CAN’T quit. I CAN’T settle for being average. I cannot settle for just being good enough. At the end of the day, I have to focus on my self development and no one else’s. I gotta keep trying. Keep pushing. Never quitting on myself. I know if I do, the rewards will far supersede the temporary satisfaction of taking the easy way. My  coaches joke all the time, if CrossFit was easy everyone would do it. But I am not everybody so therefore I must dry my tears and get over whatever this moodiness is. There is no room for it. “I ain’t got time for it!” 

Back to the drawing board…..

One thought on “I Refuse To Settle

  1. Pingback: I Refuse To Settle | Shellane's CrossFit Journey to Competition

Leave a Reply

