Practicing What You Preach…

Well…yesterday I talked about blocking out the voice, taking small pieces at a time, etc. Today I had to “take my own advice”. I walked into the Crossfit RSX box in my normal chipper self until I looked up at the board. My heart sank. It was a 30-20-10 WOD. For me, this was going to be the HARDEST WOD ever!  Harder than Fran, Cindy, Helen, and the rest of those chicks. (I still don’t like them, but I will take them over today’s WOD anytime!) I had to get in the game and wrap my brain around the WOD. I am a competitor now. I had to go beneath the surface of CrossFit and get into the mental game of this sport….QUICKLY!

3-2-1 GO!

I tried to pace myself but as the WOD went on, I knew it was time to pick it up. Those negative voices attempted to discourage me. I had to get inside my head and block them out. This WOD was intense and ugly. I had two choices. I could quit and let it break me or I can be a warrior. I remember looking up and seeing only blurred images of my coaches. Other times, I saw red. I was so delirious I didn’t even know where I was. I just had to keep the count so I was able to finish the round. I think I even saw Jesus at one point I was so out of it!  When the 50 yards of walking lunges came along, I prayed out loud, ” I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me” over and over. I knew He was alongside me but man, it just seem like the turn around point (which was an oak tree) was so far away!  Coach X and Coach Maverick walked along side me during those lunges. They motivated me every step of the way. (Which was a good thing because I can’t say for sure if I would have finished them.)

 I finished at a respectable time. I have blood blisters on my right hand and I am just beginning to feel the sensation in my legs again. But you know what? I finished! Stronger than I was yesterday, but humbled by the WOD that tomorrow brings. My CrossFit RSX family will be there sweating together, sore and all. 

CrossFit is a community, not a cult. Today’s WOD testified to that!

3 thoughts on “Practicing What You Preach…

Leave a Reply

