Shellane aka F.O.Y. is in the house!

F.O.Y. is in the house!

My name is Shellane Demarest. I am a NPC Figure Competitor. I started competing in bodybuilding shows after recovering from knee arthoscopy. I was 44 years old at the time. I really thought I was doing great and accepted the fact I may only place at best in 3rd place. It wasn’t until a friend of mine, Jay Hunter, one of the  CrossFit coaches at Fitness Xperts suggested I try CrossFit. He said that with the sled runs, box jumps, and sprints that I HAD to do in order to improve my problem areas, I might as well give it a try. My body was used to the regular bodybuilding workouts. I was a Fitness Instructor who was used to teaching 15 classes a week, I am a US Army Veteran…how hard can it be? Boy was I wrong!

My coaches were amazed how quickly I learned the moves and how fast I was able to complete the WODs. (“WOD”, also known as workout of the day, was the first of many CrossFit lingos I’ve learned.  Before I knew it, the WOD was finished and I wanted more.  Jay wanted a nickname for me. I was curious. Why? He said because I see an athlete before me and I know you will be competing with us before too long. I thought to myself, “Yeah, right. You’re crazy!” Little did I know he was right.

 

 

Leave a Reply

